• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • monkeykongking
    Certifiable Vanatic
    • Jan 2013

Welding machine recommendation

Sorry, this is not 100% van related.

I want to learn how to weld. My first project will be transforming a mini bike into a farting wild boar. The goal is to get good enough to build a foldable passenger bench seat in the van.

My budget for the machine is under $500. Something easy and not explosive dangerous.

I have 110v in my garage and no grounding in the electric outlet.
    If it's important, i can have an electrician come by and fix that problem.

Someone recommended the LINCOLN ELECTRIC MIG SP135T.
    What do you guys think? Any specific brand or model? Craigslist? Tips & tricks?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Boar.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	453819
    1966 GMC / 292 ci / 700r4 / Air Suspension
  • Floorman
    VCVC Member
    • Jul 2011

I just took a welding class last year. I have no previous experience. I bought this http://www.eastwood.com/mig-welder-1...5a-output.html I took it in to class. The instructor wanted to try it out. We set it up, hook to argon gas and started to weld away. He has a Lincoln 135 and told me if he knew about this welder he would have saved some money and bought one of these. He said it welded better than his lincoln. Check it out.
    Andrew
    sigpic
    69 Display, 250 i6, 3 on the tree.

Comment

• Vanner68
      VCVC Charter Member
      • May 2000

I got mine at a pawn shop for $225.

It's a Dayton (Grainger house brand) made by Century. Has stitch and spot weld functions, but requires 220v

If you can get 220v in your garage, you can get a much better welder. 110v welders often have a low duty cycle, which means you have to stop welding and let it cool down,

Gasless absolutely sucks, don't even bother with it.

Don't be afraid to buy used, especially if you can see it work. If the welder has a Tweco gun, even better- you can get consumables at any welding store.
      Gregg Groff