PDA

View Full Version : 6 lug-- 5 lug drums ?



G-Man
10-08-2004, 09:41 PM
This might be a dumb question, but my 69 has 6 lug drums and that limits the style of wheels you can get. Can I put 5 lug drums on my G-20 so there are a larger seletion of wheels I can use ? G-Man

fustkarr
10-08-2004, 10:40 PM
Just a thought, see if the bearing #'s are the same as a five lug, i saw a post a mo. or so back, someone said they found new 5 lug. hubs., get a five lug beside a 6 lug, and measure/compare. U might even check and see if there are different #'s for 5/6 lug spindles. If there's only one spindle #, chances are the hubs interchange.
Goodluk,Randy

gregw98
10-08-2004, 10:45 PM
Your rear axles are also 6 lug

TurboVan
10-08-2004, 11:12 PM
I would say they are not interchangeable.

TV

G-Man
10-09-2004, 11:25 AM
I was hopeing that it might be just a drum change, but looks like I will have to keep looking at 6 lug rims till I find something I like. G-Man

Optik
10-09-2004, 03:20 PM
keep an eye on ebay, i saw a nice set of 6-lug slot mags awhile back.
-tim

108VanGuy
10-09-2004, 08:57 PM
I believe the 6 lug spindles are different as they take a different inner bearing, and king pin. Even if you could just swap drums you would go from an 11" 6 lug to a 9.5" 5 lug in front. Not the best for braking. I have seen some adapters in the boneyard that allow 5 lug wheels from six lug drums. Might be an option...108VanGuy

dieselvan
10-10-2004, 02:17 PM
Worst case, if you had to change out the hubs and spindles to G10 you could reuse your G20 backing plates with Corvair truck drums and hubs. They're 11x2 inch.

Not so worst case, you might be able to use G10 hubs on your G20 spindles with your original inner bearings then install the Corvair drums.

I'm collecting the parts to install bigger front drums and a Hydravac remote booster on my 65 G10.

andrewschevelle
10-10-2004, 07:06 PM
Go disc up front.Best thing I have ever done to my van.Cost is a bit more but the braking difference is amazing.Now I don't have to wonder which way it will pull when I do a hard stop.She stops straight as a dime.Kits are as easy to get as giving BZ a buzz.My 2%worth...AC... http://www.vcvc.org/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.vcvc.org/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.vcvc.org/ubb/biggrin.gif

108VanGuy
10-10-2004, 09:02 PM
How much did that conversion cost and from where purchased?...108VanGuy

scott mcdonald
10-12-2004, 12:37 PM
Dont you have to relocate the shock mounts to switch to disc? I believe brian in vancouver wash. made the switch. I looked at his but I remember he didnt have his shocks in yet because he hadnt relocated the mounts yet. I know freflyte and solidside were there when I looked at the set up.

gregw98
10-12-2004, 04:48 PM
BZ explains the whole process in the archieves.
greg

Optik
10-14-2004, 05:22 AM
if i remember correctly you just have to use a spacer and a longer bolt (supplied by bz with the kit?) to move the shock to the outside of the mount? i think i'll try doing this swap in the spring.
-tim

dieselvan
10-14-2004, 06:04 PM
Actually, you move the shock to the front to make room for the caliper bracket.