PDA

View Full Version : What engines?

alan77520
07-29-2001, 05:27 PM
I am fairly new to the early van hobby. So new in fact that I do not yet have a van. I am trying to find out about engines. Elsewhere on this bulletin board was info about engines, but it did not address this question. When, if ever, was the 307 V8 engine offered in these vans? I have seen several descriptions of vans with this engine and was wondering if it was a factory engine option. Thanks in advance for the information.

Alan :)

tomschaner
07-29-2001, 07:14 PM
this is to answer your question,the 64-66 gmc and chevy vans were only available with the six cyl engine.the 230,250,and 292 inline.the engine box width would not enable a 8 to be installed.the 67-70 models had the larger engine box and thus an eight cyl was available.in 67 the only 8cyl was a 283 but the 68-70 had changed to a 307.according to the local auto parts computer and talking to a couple hard core vanners a 396 was actually available in 69.i can't verify this but i can tell you this much(they big block chevy fits) as well as any six or eight cyl.thats because my 67 chevy has a 396 in it.hope this helps.tom

smiley
07-30-2001, 11:22 AM
I recently learned that the 153 (6 cyl.) was offered as well in '64. The 292s weren't used in the vans. The head and block are too tall to fit in the confines of the dog house.

I too have heard rumors of the '69s with 396s in 'em, but have seen no proof as of yet. Talk about a factory-built death wish with drum brakes!

Vanner68
07-30-2001, 04:58 PM
So I guess that means the 502 crate motor will fit.....drool, drool.....

ahighdiver
07-30-2001, 07:38 PM
I looked in my Motors truck manual and neither the 292 (as Smiley said) or the 396 were available stock OR as an option in the earlies (64-70). I'd bet the 396 would'nt even fit without radical modification.

Vanner68
07-31-2001, 04:48 PM