Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: New Van - Gauge Cluster Lights not working

  1. #1
    New Guy Waldoman41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    North Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New Van - Gauge Cluster Lights not working

    Hey guys, I'm new to the vintage van but I'm excited to become a part of it. I recently bought a 1967 GMC Handybus Custom. I'm working through the minor bugs right now before I tackle some of the more major ones. Right now I'm stumped by the gauge cluster lights. They don't come on with the headlights. I've replaced both bulbs and I believe I replaced the fuse even though the old one checked good. Where should I go from here? Any help would be appreciated. As far as I can tell all the wiring behind the dash is original and hasn't been monkeyed with.

    Thanks,
    Ron


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0602.jpg 
Views:	100 
Size:	57.5 KB 
ID:	20763
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0604.jpg 
Views:	100 
Size:	55.1 KB 
ID:	20764
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0608.jpg 
Views:	100 
Size:	57.6 KB 
ID:	20766sorry for the sideways picture

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_0607.jpg  

  2. #2
    VCVC Member panelmanrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KC MO
    Posts
    1,953
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check fuse with a test light with inst lamps on
    no power, usually headlamp switch if power there
    check at inst bulb socket if power there make sure
    the inst cluster has a good ground, if no power
    back to the headlamp switch. hope this helps
    54 chevy panel truck 355 tpi 700r4 325/9in
    64 chevy 90 5.7 tpi 700r4 336 8.2
    69 chevy panel van 5.7 tbi 700r4 336 8.2

  3. #3
    VCVC Member panelmanrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KC MO
    Posts
    1,953
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    one other thing I remember about this type of bulb set up,
    when you replace a bulb and you snap it into the cluster sometimes
    it will shock the bulb enough to break the filament and the light won`t light.
    had that issue with a 57 belair I worked on not long ago, I had to ease the
    bulb into the socket gently as not to shock it. I think is was because the bulbs
    were old, new but old.
    54 chevy panel truck 355 tpi 700r4 325/9in
    64 chevy 90 5.7 tpi 700r4 336 8.2
    69 chevy panel van 5.7 tbi 700r4 336 8.2

  4. #4
    VCVC Charter Member Vanner68's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Kimball MI USA
    Posts
    13,436
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The stock sockets have a metal clip pressed into the plastic that sometimes falls out.... also, make sure the cluster is tight in the dash, that is the only ground it has,
    Gregg Groff


    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

    1968 Chevy G20 108 panel Now with 454 power!

    1965 Chevy G10 panel- OHC Pontiac inline 6

  5. #5
    Van Addict Punk Van's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kansas City, MO.
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    From my experience on mine, I would bet money it is in your ground.

  6. #6
    VCVC Member Edoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    646
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's a nice lookin van, I dig the wheels. Welcome to VCVC! (I'd offer advice for your problem, but I suck at electrical stuff)

  7. #7
    VCVC Member Wookee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Joppa Maryland U.S.A.
    Posts
    15,769
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool

    make sure the knob on the headlight switch is turned all the way to the right.When it is pulled out.
    if it is working corectly this feature will dim the dash lights.Turn on the lights in the interior IF the vans has them from the factory.

    Welcome to our forums
    Its a "van thing". A life style you have to live to understand!!!!

  8. #8
    VCVC Member Wookee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Joppa Maryland U.S.A.
    Posts
    15,769
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool

    Sorry fior the miss information in my last post.
    Turn the headlight knob to the left to make the dash lights go brighter and the dome light to come on.
    Its a "van thing". A life style you have to live to understand!!!!

  9. #9
    VCVC Member kookykrispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Apple Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,520
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Often it can be as simple as the rheostat on the headlight switch is going bad. I need to replace the one in the wikivan, you have to fiddle with it to get any kind of instrument lights at all. Its supposed to be a rheostat dimmer when you turn the knob. My switch is getting so worn out, there is only one location that causes the lights to illuminate on the whole range of the rheostat. You can get a new headlight switch at oriellys, they are cheap enough, I just haven't gotten around to it yet.



    64' wikivan 230/4 onda tree/2.56 posi
    '64 Red Baron no engine/trans
    '66 "Lucky" 230/3 onda tree/project

    Quote Originally Posted by Vanner68 View Post
    Remember, they're still printing money, but they aren't making any more earlies!

  10. #10
    New Guy Waldoman41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    North Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys, after replacing the bulbs and the fuse and then checking the gauges after dark the lights actually were working. I just couldn't tell until after dark. I appreciate all the feedback.

  11. #11
    VCVC Member ExEarlyVanner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Moonachie NJ
    Posts
    1,700
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Dome lights

    In your side ways pictures where are the dome lights it looks like the wires are there but no lights ???? are the wires cut off ? are the clips touching metal?? to cause a short ??? the wires usually run along the driver side up close to the roof!!


    Ken

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •