Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hopeful new Vanner skeptical of the local deal

New Guy
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hopeful new Vanner skeptical of the local deal

Hey guys, I've had my eye on a 69 108 that's available near me in the northeast for seemingly a good deal (talked him down to $2800). I'm not too experienced with cars except for routine stuff on modern vehicles of my own, and this particular deal has a few points that worry me. That said I am a machine tech for a local college where I fix old woodworking machinery, kilns, metalsmithing tools, etc. so I can wrench a bit. Some insight into the situation would be really appreciated.

Basically this van (don't have pictures and the page was taken down, though it is not sold yet to my knowledge, sorry) from what I can tell has had significant repairs done to the rockers and who knows where else. I am told it has been stored indoors for the past ~12 years and that appears to be true. Dry rotted tires, busted windshield, but runs up and down the driveway, goes, stops, turns, lights work, etc., appears to be otherwise stock with the 307/powerglide.

The parts I have doubts about are as follows:
    -the seller is a real piece of work and I don't believe a word he says. Bought the vehicle from an estate and is trying to make a buck
    -unsure of the extent of the body work, paint looks decent though. How well does bondo hold up to the elements? I don't have a garage but would store it in the winters
    -how wary would you guys be of buying a vehicle that works well enough to do a driveway test drive but the owner wouldn't allow for a road test drive (allegedly because of its relative amount of unknown factors and doesn't want it put in a ditch due to a blowout or whatever)?

Any insight is appreciated! Thanks! Is there anything in particular I'm not thinking of that I should look out for?

VCVC Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)