Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: 1st gen sway bar

  1. #1
    VCVC Member garagedoordennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    645
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    1st gen sway bar

    I was looking at installing my sway bar and need the brackets and bushings to connect to the frame. I have the spring mounts but was wondering what to use for frame connection. I see napa shows the bushing but not the clamp part
    1968 Chevy 90 250/700r/Fuel Injected - sold and missed
    1966 Chevy handyvan 350/auto (work in progress)
    1965 GMC 350/auto ( just had to have )

  2. #2
    VCVC Member kookykrispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Apple Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,521
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The frame clamp and bushing is pretty standard. Similar to many other chevy models. These camaro bushings should fit, They have a rather large slot for the frame mounts so I think they will work. and they are $25 shipped. Just measure the diameter of your bar and buy accordingly:

    32mm: https://www.ebay.com/itm/82-02-Camar...QAAMXQ9rVQ6vZq

    34mm: https://www.ebay.com/itm/82-02-Camar...QAAMXQ9rVQ6vZq

    36mm: https://www.ebay.com/itm/82-02-Camar...QAAMXQ9rVQ6vZq



    64' wikivan 230/4 onda tree/2.56 posi
    '64 Red Baron no engine/trans
    '66 "Lucky" 230/3 onda tree/project

    Quote Originally Posted by Vanner68 View Post
    Remember, they're still printing money, but they aren't making any more earlies!

  3. #3
    VCVC Member garagedoordennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    645
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190907_193900.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	54.1 KB 
ID:	40361
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190907_193907.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	40363

    Well one trip to autozone and had what i needed im going to a local car show in the morning so will see if i feel any difference.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20190907_193913.jpg  
    1968 Chevy 90 250/700r/Fuel Injected - sold and missed
    1966 Chevy handyvan 350/auto (work in progress)
    1965 GMC 350/auto ( just had to have )

  4. #4
    VCVC Member BILLS66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Salem,OR
    Posts
    2,672
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Real clean under there ! Nice ! Bill
    1966 Chevy G10 Panel, 283 small block/turbo 350,Disc brakes

  5. #5
    VCVC Member kookykrispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Apple Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,521
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There ya go!

    Yes, having a front bar installed does make a noticable difference in hard cornering



    64' wikivan 230/4 onda tree/2.56 posi
    '64 Red Baron no engine/trans
    '66 "Lucky" 230/3 onda tree/project

    Quote Originally Posted by Vanner68 View Post
    Remember, they're still printing money, but they aren't making any more earlies!

  6. #6
    VCVC Member garagedoordennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    645
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Drove 50 miles today and all I can say is ...wow
    1968 Chevy 90 250/700r/Fuel Injected - sold and missed
    1966 Chevy handyvan 350/auto (work in progress)
    1965 GMC 350/auto ( just had to have )

  7. #7
    Van Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by garagedoordennis View Post
    Drove 50 miles today and all I can say is ...wow
    Glad that works. Could you post a picture of how you connected the end of the sway bar to the spring/spindle/??? Also, did you use factory mounting holes in the frame or did you add those?

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Certifiable Vanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    944
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What brakes/MC are you running? I had to add a drop bracket to the frame to accommodate the dual MC upgrade I did, I still have all drums though. You can barely see it in the second picture - replaced the broken link this weekend.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20190908_180507.jpg   20190907_192847.jpg  

  9. #9
    Van Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by VanSandy View Post
    What brakes/MC are you running? I had to add a drop bracket to the frame to accommodate the dual MC upgrade I did, I still have all drums though. You can barely see it in the second picture - replaced the broken link this weekend.
    I'm running stock drum brakes with a dual M/C. I see where that could interfere.

    Is that a 2nd gen axle? My '65 doesn't have the mounting hole for the link mount.

    Mike...

  10. #10
    Certifiable Vanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    944
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by madillow View Post
    I'm running stock drum brakes with a dual M/C. I see where that could interfere.

    Is that a 2nd gen axle? My '65 doesn't have the mounting hole for the link mount.

    Mike...
    No, it's a first gen, '66 Sportvan Deluxe, came with a sway bar from the factory.

  11. #11
    VCVC Member Wookee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Joppa Maryland U.S.A.
    Posts
    15,769
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by madillow View Post
    I'm running stock drum brakes with a dual M/C. I see where that could interfere.

    Is that a 2nd gen axle? My '65 doesn't have the mounting hole for the link mount.

    Mike...
    My no side door 1st Gen did not have a sway bar from the factory.While I replaced repaired all of the rest of the factory front end mechanicals. I never added a sway bar.It did OK on the curvy country roads we have around here....
    It actually drove, get your self in trouble good.On all the non highway style roads we drove down.
    To me it was all ways fun to drive.
    Last edited by Wookee; 09-10-2019 at 01:19 PM.
    Its a "van thing". A life style you have to live to understand!!!!

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •